School of Science
Time:2020-03-12      Author:      Click:[]

The predecessor of School of Science (SOS)at Xi’an Technological Universitywas the Department of Teaching Research for Basic Courses established in 1965. With continuous development of the university and increase of discipline categories, some sections of teaching research for special specialties have gradually become independent departments of the university since 1985. In 1999, Department of Mathematics and Physics was founded on the basis of the teaching research section for Mathematics, teaching research section for Physics, and laboratory of Physics.And then, the Department of Mathematics and Physics was finally renamed as SOS in2011. At present, international partners of SOS are the Masaryk University and Brno University of Technology in the Czech Republic.

SOS provides three majors for undergraduates, including Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, Information and Computing Science, and Applied Physics. In addition, SOS also has the first level discipline of Physics for master’s candidates. SOS has more than 400 undergraduates and 20 graduate students as master’s candidates. SOS consists of two departments, which are Department of Mathematics and Department of Physics. The disciplines of Mathematics and Physics have become essential supports for all-round development of the university. In particular, through long-term scientific research accumulations, optics forms a scientific research system on information optics and photoelectric detection, laser theory and technology, optoelectronic materials, optical element and detection technology, and related research directions. The optical research system has mature research team and cooperation framework. Recently, optical properties and measurements of wake flow and solid-state laser engineering have become superiorities and features.

SOS has a group of 93 faculty members, including 7 professors and 24 associate professors. Among these 93 faculty members, 37 members have doctorates.